Five Area Firefighters Awarded Medal of Honor


(Undated) – Five firefighters who responded to last September’s anhydrous ammonia accident near T-town have been awarded the Medal of Honor. The 31st Annual Fallen Firefighter Memorial and Medal of Honor Ceremony was recently held at the state capital. The event honored and remembered five fallen firefighters and recognized those who went above and beyond. Eight firefighters were awarded the Medal of Honor, the highest award given by the State of Illinois to a firefighter for an act of outstanding bravery or heroism. Montrose Fire Protection District Assistant Fire Chief, David Browning, and Montrose Fire Protection District Captain, Drew Pals, as well as Teutopolis Fire Protection District, Lieutenant, Brett Repking, and Teutopolis Fire Protection District Firefighters, Dan Kocher and Ryan Lee, were among the recipients of the Medal of Honor.